Cristiano Ronaldo Takes FIFA Player Of The Year Award As La Liga Dominates World Eleven Again

Cristiano Ronaldo was named the football governing body best player at the second edition of ‘The Best’ annual FIFA Award which took place in London.

The Real Madrid star retained the award he won in 2016 after beating Lionel Messi and Neymar Junior in a vote between national team coaches, players, media and fans. Ronaldo took 43.16% of the total vote, reflecting a year in which helped Madrid to lift the UEFA Champions League back to back and the Spanish La Liga. His two goals against Juventus in the Champions League final in Cardiff last June helped Madrid to establish thier continental supremacy.

Olivier Giroud took home the highly coveted Puskas award for best goal of the year after his stunning scorpion kick goal against Crystal Palace in January. 

In this year’s Fifpro World XI FIFA made three changes to the side selected in 2016. Goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon replaced Manuel Neuer, while AC Milan’s Leonardo Bonucci replaced Barcelona’s Gerard Pique in defence and PSG forward Neymar came in for Luis Suarez in attack.

The line-up featured five players from Real Madrid, two from Barcelona, two from PSG, one from Juventus and one from AC Milan. No Premier League players were included.

No Tags


Sponsored Ads

  • Google Digital Skills
  • Ihifix
  • Kazman Clothing
  • Ad 4

Facebook Community

%d bloggers like this: